What Do Patients Say About Dr. Tobias Carling?

5 Stars
Self-verified patient of Dr. Tobias Carling - Posted on May 10, 2022.

It is now a week since my surgery, and I feel better than I have felt in years. My blood pressure has dropped 40 points and continues a downward trend. I had no pain at all which speaks to Dr. Carling's skill as a gifted surgeon. The facility and the equipment are state of the art. The staff is exceptional. I was a bit embarrassed to have them get me coffe, water, etc., but they insisted that I allow them to do their jobs. Perhaps the most satisfying aspect of this surgery is my once apprehensive wife's admission that I made the right decision. ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

5 Stars
Self-verified patient of Dr. Tobias Carling - Posted on April 30, 2022.

So good it's hard to believe it can be true!, but it is! I had surgery at Carling Adrenal center April 12th. I've waited a bit to write this review because I am still in disbelief at how impressive this whole experience was and was waiting for the 'other shoe to drop'. But it never did. My journey to Dr. Carling was, like many a unique experience. I was diagnosed 10 years ago with a Pheochromocytoma on my right Adrenal but for some reason it was never followed up on and was forgotten about. In January it was re-discovered quite be accident during a routine abdominal ultrasound scan as part of my Bi-annual health check in January. I did research and quickly found the Carling Adrenal Center, I read reviews on the Carling website and ultimately concluded that it could not be as good as it claimed to be. My wife and and I live in Hong Kong and had the good fortune to be referred to the best Endocrine surgeon in Hong Kong and one of the best in Asia. We were convinced that I was in good hands with this surgeon but the Lord had other plans. I asked by Hong Kong surgeon about the Mini Back Scope Surgery that I had read about on the Carling Website and he said that he went thru the belly because the to go thru the back requires more experience than he had. He explained that my tumor was producing hormones that was causing episodes of Hypertensive Crisis in what was otherwise normal blood pressure. He wanted an effective alpha block before surgery. Ultimately I had to go on Phenoxabenzamine 5 caps per day. This was costing me about $19 USD per cap and causing dizzy spells and still wasn't really controlling the hypertensive episodes well. What brought me back to Dr. Carling was that when my medicine regimen was deemed to be sufficient for surgery on April 12th in Hong Kong my Surgeons office sent me an Email says surgery would be scheduled for April 28TH! Immediately I started looking for alternatives. On Tuesday I send my first Email to Dr. Carling asking about cost of Surgery and rather I could have it done on April 12 (only a week later to take advantage of the Alpha block). I was shocked to learn that the cost of the surgery would be 1/2 what it would have cost me to do it in Hong Kong even if you included the substantial travel costs. Further, I learned that Dr. Carling seldom uses an Alpha Block prior to surgery due to the short time under Anesthesia and his team's experience dealing with Pheos. Ultimately I spend thousands of dollars in Hong Kong on Meds, appointments unnecessary tests and was prepared to spend much more on an inferior more expensive surgical procedure. I have no doubt that my surgeon in Hong Kong is one of the best but the experience that the surgical team at Carling Adrenal center can leverage makes it all worthwhile.

I would not recommend rushing surgery this much it's probably not necessary if you talk with Dr. Carling. Overall my recovery has been exceptional. I did have some normal shoulder pain after surgery which is normal referred gas pains but it only lasted about 36 hours and was managed by pain meds. 1 week after surgery I ran 5K on a treadmill at pre-surgical pace with no discomfort and 2+ week out from surgery I feel better than ever. I had essential tremor before the surgery and could not even eat or write properly. Post surgery that's gone! I'm excited to check my blood pressure, sugar levels and Lipids to see if those too have been cured! Overall the trip to Tampa was extremely worth it!

5 Stars
Self-verified patient of Dr. Tobias Carling - Posted on April 27, 2022.

Dr. Tobias Carling knew exactly why my uncontrolled BP had been regularly in the 200 range. I had been to 2 Endocrinologists associated with 2 major , very well-known hospitals and they did not seem to think the nodules on my left adrenal gland were related to my severe high blood pressure issue. I’m thin, had been on a very low-salt diet, plant-based diet, sugar-free diet, and a fat/oil free diet for a long time. I exercised 3-5 times a week. No drinking nor smoking as well! I was frantic, fearing each day would be my last as a result of a stroke or heart attack and my kidneys were at risk as well. My daughter found Dr. Carling! I now have relatively normal BP, I feel 40 years younger, friends tell me I look younger as well. Thank you Dr. Carling for giving me a new life!

5 Stars
Self-verified patient of Dr. Tobias Carling - Posted on April 20, 2022.

Wow! I have read so many wonderful testimonies about Dr Carling and now I have my own. Like so many I have read I have been dealing with Conns Syndrome for 24 years and never knew that was what was wrong with me. Soooo many various doctors giving me different cocktails of meds to handle my high Bp and migraines without success and full of side effects. Not until I went into the ER twice in a two day period for stroke level BP and severe temors at the beginning of the December did I finally start to head in the path to true recovery. After a myriad of specialists with no answers finally someone did a blood test showing I have primary hyperalderstone. So I started researching and God lead me to find Dr Carlings website. I knew reading through all the info this was me and this is where I needed to go. The consult was emotional for me as I had recently been told I was chasing down a rabbit hole and Dr Carling caring and confidently told me no you are not and yes you will be cured. What a Life Giving surgery this has been for me. Immediately in the recovery room my BP was at levels I have never been at even with 400 mg of Spirolactone and another med. I was prepared for a few weeks to see a difference due to the additional amount of alderstrone in my system and was so happy for the immediate results. To think I will be able to live and function normally without the ridiculous high BP, without Migraines, without Insomia, and finally be able to loose weight is a huge blessing. I am forever Thankful for Dr Carling and his staff and the gift God has given him to cure and provide a positive life change for many people. ❤️❤️❤️

5 Stars
Self-verified patient of Dr. Tobias Carling - Posted on April 20, 2022.

Dr Carling gave me my life back after suffering with symptoms of Cushings for decades. The excess cortisol production affected my heart and caused diabetes. I had a 4 cm mass removed from my left adrenal gland on 4/5 and felt relief immediately. In the last few weeks my energy has improved .. I lost a few pounds..no more inflammation.. achy joints.. brain fog … I could go on. His staff is incredible from Angie in scheduling to Caridad and Meredith .. Josie took great care of me pre op.. Latoya and Brandon made sure I had everything needed for my post op care. Looking forward to returning in June to get the right side done. I highly recommend Dr. Carling and The Hospital for Endocrine surgery .. 5 stars is not nearly enough to express my gratitude

5 Stars
Self-verified patient of Dr. Tobias Carling - Posted on April 18, 2022.

I wish to thank Dr. Carling and his very professional team for the way I was treated during my March 30, 2022 Adrenal surgery. From check-in before 5:30 a.m., to my Mini Back Scope Adrenalectomy, to recovery room and back to a private room before noon, everything was expedited. In less than 30 minutes Dr. Carling eliminated my adrenal issues that have festered for most of my last 20 plus years. I was tentatively diagnosed with Primary Hyperaldosteronism in 2007 and was being treated with several medications. Recently in late December, 2021 my spiking blood pressures and sickening aldosterone waves became much more pronounced and debilitating. I was without a GP or specialist in my rural Virginia area. Searching the Internet for a specialist, there was the "Renowned in the World" and the "Best in the USA", Dr. Tobias Carling, an answer to my prayers. We contacted his website and Allison Kierkegaard led us through the information documentation process. Angie Morrissey, Scheduling Manager, took us through the set up for surgery. Wendy Feliciano, Scheduling Coordinator, set up our phone consultation directly with Dr. Carling. He was extremely personable and gave me the choice to continue as I was on the medications or I could choose the quality of life he could offer by arthroscopically removing my left adrenal gland and its nodule. We booked his surgery for March 30th. We drove to Tampa, where we were welcomed into one of the cooperating area motel suites, were picked up at 5 a.m. surgery morning by the hospital shuttle and checked into HCA FL West Tampa Hospital (editorial note: Ths is the same as HFES = Hospital for Endocrine Surgery).

Following my surgery Dr. Carling visited me in my room twice and his top-notch assistant, Meredith LaRue, visited me three times. They even presented me with a photo of my removed adrenal gland including the benign nodule. In between visits, all of the floor team and staff were excellent at meeting my needs. My wife was even allowed to spend the night in my room in a sleep recliner to ease my anxiety. We thank Dr. Carling from the bottom of our hearts for the Miracle he has given me! May he be able to continue helping others for many years the way he has helped me! And may the Lord continue to Bless Dr. Carling and everyone on his staff and team!

5 Stars
Self-verified patient of Dr. Tobias Carling - Posted on April 18, 2022.

I am one week post-op Mini Back Scope Partial Adrenalectomy with Dr. Carling and I cannot thank him and his staff enough! Start to finish, five stars! From his pre-op nurse Barbara, to his NP Meredith, to the good doctor himself. Dr. Carling is as advertised...the best adrenal surgeon in the country. I was discharged 24 hours later with no need for crisis meds as my adrenals were awake and functioning properly. One of the reasons I chose Dr. Carling was I have bilateral adrenal tumors. An adenoma on the right, which was functioning and the source of my Subclinical Cushing's Syndrome, and a myelolipoma on the left. He removed the adenoma leaving part of my right adrenal gland in place. This was important to me in case, someday in the future, I have to have the myelolipoma removed. My insurance in Michigan refused to pay so I went out of pocket. Best investment ever in my future!! ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

5 Stars
Self-verified patient of Dr. Tobias Carling - Posted on April 15, 2022.

So thankful to have been able to be a patient of Dr Carling. I had a left adrenalectomy 4/12/22. I spent years trying to get to the bottom of all my symptoms. Dr. Carling looked over all my medical records and had a diagnosis in no time and I was scheduled for surgery 2 weeks later! My experience from the 1st phone call to discharge after surgery was excellent ❤️ So excited to start feeling better!

5 Stars
Self-verified patient of Dr. Tobias Carling - Posted on April 15, 2022.

Just returned from Tampa and an adrenalectomy surgery with Dr. Carling. Everything went very smoothly from the initial application to become his patient to getting home today. Couldn't be happier, he and his entire staff are top notch! From the check in gal.... to the anesthesiologist... to the floor nurses -my best friend (who went with me) and I were very impressed! Thank you!!

5 Stars
Self-verified patient of Dr. Tobias Carling - Posted on April 13, 2022.

I'm 61 years old and type 2. We traveled from Dallas, TX to Tampa, FL for my April 5, 2022 adrenal surgery. I had done my research and knew Dr. Carling was the best of the best for this procedure. That was confirmed every step of the way through my pre-opt, operation, and post-opt experience. His team, from the people who greeted me when I came through the doors of the Endocrine hospital to the gentleman who wheeled me out the doors again, were topnotch in every way. The facility is clean and serene, which since my tumor had been causing me anxiety for years was a wonderfully beneficial for me. I felt as relaxed as I could be before the procedue and loads better after. The nurses and other care-providers were caring and experienced and thoughtful. I felt like I was in the very best hands possible. It's been a little more than a week since my surgery and I'm back in Texas and feeling good. Many thanks to Dr Carling and his team.

5 Stars
Self-verified patient of Dr. Tobias Carling - Posted on March 30, 2022.

I have had a tumor on my left adrenal gland for about 5 years. My endocrinologist recommended me to Dr. Carling to have the Adrenalectomy performed by the best surgeon in the USA/world. I traveled 2 and a half hours away for the consultation and then the MBS- Mini Back Scope Adrenalectomy surgery on 3/9/2022. I had sub clinical Cushing syndrome, heart palpitations (controlled with medication), slightly elevated blood pressure and the tumor was 1.8 cm when it was removed. A few hours after surgery my blood pressure was down to 99/59. It has stabilized to 102/72 and no longer need the meds for the heart palpitations! I lost about 6 pounds and looking forward to losing more. Dr. Carling was so patient with me waiting for any questions me or my husband had and answering them with great knowledge! I wanted to also thank Meredith LaRue and Caridad Medlock for taking the time to follow up with me to see how I was doing in the days that followed the surgery. The hospital was good, the nurses were great, and they had good food as well. I would recommend Dr. Carling and the Hospital for Endocrine Surgery to anyone who needs this procedure.

5 Stars
Self-verified patient of Dr. Tobias Carling - Posted on March 19, 2022.

In March 2022, I travelled from Australia for surgery with Dr. Carling, to remove a tumor from my adrenal gland via the mini back scope (MBSA). I reserve the highest praise for Dr. Carling; indeed, for such an accomplished man, he is remarkably humble. I self-referred to Dr. Carling because I was not getting answers from local endocrinologists. Dr. Carling treated me with the utmost respect and dignity, and never made me feel embarrassed about my BMI or my blood pressure etc. Prior to the surgery, I had put on 120 pounds (55 Kg) and had been unable to lose weight for over ten years, regardless of how much I dieted or exercised. My BMI was over 40 and I was miserable because I simply could not lose weight no matter how hard I tried. By the 8th day after surgery, I had lost 6.8 pounds (3.1 Kg) without even starting my exercising. I stood on the scale and have never been so astonished in my entire life. In fact, I burst into tears. In the years leading up to surgery, I had experienced multiple DVT’s and was genuinely worried that I would have a heart attack. Prior to the surgery, my blood pressure was 170/100. At discharge, my blood pressure was 112/71. What a gift! Before surgery, I was so sick. Within days of surgery, I felt 100 times better. I now have hope for the future for the first time in years. I am so glad I came to Dr. Carling; it is the best thing I ever did. I also like that Dr. Carling has a streamlined process, meaning that all the groundwork and consultation was conducted whilst I was still in Australia. When I went to Tampa, I was literally only going there for the operation. Special mention to Dr. Carling’s team at the Carling Adrenal Centre, and also to the team at the Hospital for Endocrine Surgery – they are great people who helped me every step of the way. Ten stars!

5 Stars
Self-verified patient of Dr. Tobias Carling - Posted on March 17, 2022.

Last year on April 2021, I was diagnosed with Cushing's Syndrome which meant I had tumors on my adrenal glands, unfortunately in my case it was on both sides. This was a complete shock for my family & I as we had never heard about Cushing's before. Thank God, I had a good Endocrinologist who diagnosed me right away. She then advised me that surgery would be the best option. My family then quickly started researching the best surgeons in Arizona as that is where we live and found a few in our area. After consulting with multiple doctors in Arizona, I was told bad news that the tumors on both Adrenal glands are so big that they would have to remove BOTH glands during surgery. Which then meant I would be on steroids for the rest of my life. My daughter and husband did not agree on that and were hopeful that there would be other options. They then started to research day and night for the best surgeon for Adrenal Tumors. After a few days, they found Dr. Carling in Tampa Florida and after reading so many wonderful reviews at first they were a little skeptical about Dr. Carling as he only had 5 star reviews and amazing words that were said about him so they couldn’t believe it and were certain it couldn’t be true. But you know what? That was the TRUTH. My family then decided for me to reach out to Dr. Carling. After my daughter called and left a voicemail she received a call right away from Dr. Carling. After my daughter explained my story, he asked for medical records to be mailed to his office. After reviewing the documents, he called my daughter and explained that I needed to have surgery on both sides a few weeks apart and that he would do his best to preserve as much of the glands as possible. I was then scheduled for the first surgery on August 2021 in Tampa,Florida. I had my surgery on Tuesday and by Friday the same week I was back home & feeling very good. In October 2021 I was scheduled for my second surgery, I had surgery on Tuesday and again by Friday I was back home. This time around he did have to prescribe hydrocortisone. In December 2021, after having labs done with my Endocrinologist in Arizona she decided to discontinue my hydrocortisone because she said that my Adrenal Glands woke up and have started working therefore I don’t need it anymore. This was great news! Dr. Carling with his experience was able to save almost 50% of both of my glands! Thank you Dr. Carling for saving my life, Thank you for taking the time to respond back to us whenever we needed you, Thank you for being so kind and treating your patients with professionalism and genuinely caring. From the beginning you have been so helpful and reassuring and made sure to educate me and my family about my condition so that we fully understand. Please, people if you have this kind of problem please contact Dr. Carling in Tampa Florida! I know for many who don’t live in Florida its not easy but if you have the possibility please make this sacrifice for yourself it is WORTH IT! From my experience I can WHOLE HEARTEDLY say Dr. Carling is an Angel walking this earth. He is wonderful. Thank you Dr. Carling!

5 Stars
Self-verified patient of Dr. Tobias Carling - Posted on March 15, 2022.

Dr. Carling, Dr. Shah (anesthesia), Meredith LaRue, and staff are truly amazing. I traveled to Florida from California for a 14 minute Mini Back Scope Adrenalectomy (MBSA) for a 1.7 cm aldosterone producing adrenal adenoma in March of 2022. After suffering with high blood pressure, fatigue, headaches, muscle weakness, etc. for well over 5 years, I am now symptom free. Minutes before the operation my BP reading was 179/109, and now, two weeks post-op, it is down to 110/68. The support, knowledge, patience, love, and elevated care you receive at Carling Adrenal Center is unmatched. You really should look no further when it comes to your adrenal health.

5 Stars
Self-verified patient of Dr. Tobias Carling and Meredith (Dr. Carling's new and awesome Adrenal Nurse Practioner) - Posted on March 3, 2022.

Editorial note. Meredith (Dr. Carling's Adrenal Nurse Practioner) was hand-picked for the Hospital for Endocrine Surgery. She is awesome, and you will all meet her. She has a tremendous background in endocrinology and proabably knows more about adrenal and endocrine diseases than 95% of all endocrinologists. This letter was addressed to her from a patient now cured from Conn's syndrome and primary hyperaldosteronism.

Hi Meredith, I will forever be grateful for you and Dr. Carling. Your enthusiasm, knowledge, and dedication regarding adrenal illness is unmatched. I am feeling like my old self again! BP has returned to normal, headaches have ceased, and fatigue is now a thing of the past. I have attached a picture that I absolutely love (Editorial note. She is holding the photo of her bad aldosterone producing tumor). Please feel free to share it however you please. I am very proud of it, as you should be too! Stay well and keep changing lives for the better ❤️. With love and appreciation,

5 Stars
Self-verified patient of Dr. Tobias Carling - Posted on February 10, 2022. Thank you Dr. Carling and team. I had my surgery in February 2022 with Dr. Carling at the new endocrine surgery hospital. I was supposed to go in for an adrenalectomy; the lab writeups from my previous two CT scans (at Tower Radiology, both of which were incorrect), said that the mass was located on the adrenal glad. When I came in for surgery, there was a CT scan that morning, and the mass was actually found to be next to my adrenal, not attached to it. Of course Dr. Carling was able to remove it in a minimally invasive way. Before going to surgery, I met with Dr. Carling and read the information on his website; I really feel like he gave me the information I needed to feel comfortable going into the procedure and understand what would happen during and after the surgery. I stayed the night at the hospital for monitoring and so they could test that everything was working properly as expected. Dr. Carling followed up with me several times in the hospital after my surgery, and I received a couple pictures of the mass they removed. The hospital staff was also great all around - the nurses (pre-and post-op), nurse assistants, and even the lab personnel who came to draw blood (several other times I've had my blood drawn at other places, they seem to have trouble, so I was expecting this to be a pain again; but this gentleman Paolo drew it three separate times so quick and painlessly). I am thankful to have been referred to Dr. Carling and have my surgery here; he and everyone on his team has a healthy amount of experience under their belts, they all understand what they are doing and how to care for their patients. I highly recommend Dr. Carling to anybody who needs to undergo adrenal surgery.

5 Stars
Self-verified patient of Dr. Tobias Carling - Posted on February 9, 2022. If you need to have surgery for a thyroid, parathyroid, or adrenal condition, this is the place to do it. I recently had my right adrenal gland removed by Dr. Carling due to a pheochromocytoma and could not have asked for a better experience. The facilities are new and super clean, every staff person I encounter was friendly and kind, and the food was excellent!

10/10 Stars
Self-verified patient of Dr. Tobias Carling - Posted on February 3, 2022. 10/10 would definitely recommend. I was diagnosed with a pheochromocytoma in October 2021. My dad stumbled across Dr. Carling’s website and encouraged me to look into having surgery in Florida. After learning he was in my insurance network and the volume of adrenalectomies he does a year coming here was a no brainer. From the moment I filled out the initial paperwork the whole process was seamless. His administrative staff responds quickly to questions and my entire care team the day of surgery was fabulous. Anesthesiologist had me laughing as he inserted the A-line and I felt completely calm as I was wheeled off to the operating room. My pain after having the mini back scope is minimal and I walked a slow 2.5 miles around downtown Tampa after being discharged. Thank you so much to Dr. Carling and his entire administrative and clinical team, I could not have asked for a better experience.

5 Stars
Self-verified patient of Dr. Tobias Carling - Posted on January 21, 2022. The Adrenal Center is beautiful and state of the art. I am very thankful to Dr Carling for his caring manner and surgical expertise. He has assembled a world class team and every staff member was very professional and attentive. I would highly recommend.

5 Stars
Self-verified patient of Dr. Tobias Carling - Posted on December 27, 2021. I could not be more happy that my husband found The Carling Adrenal Center when we found out I had bilateral adrenal adenomas. Doctor Carling and his staff responded very quickly when we reached out with questions and within a couple of days I was having a consultation with Doctor Carling. It was during this consultation I knew Doctor Carling was the one I wanted to help me. He helped me understand Conn's Syndrome and what my next steps would be to help cure me. Within two months of speaking with him I flew from Maine to Tampa and underwent surgery. From Doctor Carling to the hospital staff I understood what would be happening every step of the way. The nurses at this hospital were amazing and helped ease my nerves. It is clear Doctor Carling is in the right specialty and really cares about all of his patients, the nurses at the hospital told me wonderful stories about things he has done for his patients in the past. A special Thank you to Allison who answered all of mine and my husbands questions along the way without making us feel like we were a bother. Thank you for helping me on the path back to normal!

5 Stars
Self-verified patient of Dr. Tobias Carling - Posted on December 12, 2021. I can not thank Dr. Carling enough for taking the time to analyze my files and for not hesitating to come to my rescue in my time of need. Dr. Carling takes the initiative to treat the patient and the symptoms. I did my research and found Dr. Carling. I was apprehensive at first because it sounded too good to be true. Dr. Carling and I spoke over the phone, discussed the issues I was having and developed a game plan. I traveled to Tampa, Florida from Kentucky. Dr. Carling and his team run a very professional organization. Everyone that I encountered was very professional, pleasant and knowledgeable. From sending in my papers, all the way up to the surgery and follow-up, the entire process was wonderful. It’s very refreshing in today’s society to work with a team who knows their job and performs at an exceptional level. I never found myself guessing what’s next. They walked me step by step through the process. I suffered for years with high blood pressure, tachycardia, flank pain, sweating, nausea, bloating, severe hemiplegic migraines and flight or fight responses. I’ve been to many doctors in my area seeking treatment for these symptoms and I received no solutions. I was having multiple attacks a day. Dr. Carling and his team were so amazing before, during, and after the surgery to the point where they had me up walking within hours after my surgery. The entire experience was beyond exceptional. I woke up the next morning amazed at the wonderful feeling of calm that I felt for the first time in a very long time. I’m now at day 27 after the surgery and I have never felt better. Everyone who sees me tells me about how much better I look and they can see this new sense of calm I now possess. Thanks to Dr. Carling and his team, my family and I had the best Thanksgiving we’ve had in years and are looking forward to a wonderful Christmas. Dr. Carling was the warrior I had been seeking.

5 Stars
Self-verified patient of Dr. Tobias Carling - Posted on November 22, 2021. I recently traveled from Texas to Tampa Florida at my own expense after doing extensive research concerning the medical procedures I needed. After reviewing Dr Carling and his Adrenal Center, I was convinced this is where I was going. The doctors in Austin had never heard of his technique (MBSA). Upon arrival I was welcomed and treated with the utmost respect. Before surgery Dr Carling described the procedure in detail giving me the confidence I needed to rest at ease. Dr Carling and the staff at Memorial Hospital could not have been more caring and attentive to my needs. In addition. the entire nursing team from surgery to ICU to recovery were fantastic. I would highly recommend Dr Carling and his team.

5 Stars
Self-verified patient of Dr. Tobias Carling - Posted on November 19, 2021. I went from Southport, NC to the Carling Adrenal Center in Tampa because of the excellent reviews I read. I previously had Renal Cell Carcinoma in 2008 and 2012, resulting in the removal of my left kidney. In December 2020 my CT scan showed a small growth on my right adrenal gland, and I was worried about the possible spread of my previous cancer. My local surgeon did not give me much confidence in being able to treat this. But Dr. Carling treats diseases of the adrenal glands every week, and does it successfully. On October 19, 2021, Dr. Carling removed my adrenal tumor and was able to save 30% of the adrenal gland. Pathology showed the tumor was the same as my prior kidney cancer. He used the Mini Back Scope technique and I had no pain after the procedure at all. I was back on the road to Southport, NC, in just a few days. Dr. Carling and his staff did an excellent job of welcoming me to their Center, keeping me informed of every step, and following up with me after the surgery.

5 Stars
Self-verified patient of Dr. Tobias Carling - Posted on November 18, 2021. After several years of suffering and multiple doctors, I found Dr. Carling and he saved my life. He is so amazing and I am so greatful to have my life back. Violet Girl

5 Stars
Self-verified patient of Dr. Tobias Carling - Posted on October 2, 2021. Dr. Carling and everyone you will deal with at The Carling Adrenal Center are very professional. Very kind! Their only care is your comfort and well being. They address your every need, and concern. They do so much of this. They know what you will need before you ask. The staff at the hospital all work to make you comfortable as they can. Surgery is never fun. If you have to have it done. You will never find a better more caring team! I suggest this way of surgery, over the regular way, 100 percent. I was sweeping off my back pouch today. 3 days after my operation. I am going back to work, next week. I would not be doing that if I had my surgery done the way my Doctors wanted to do my surgery! Dr. Carling takes very good care of his patients, I can not say enough good things about my experience here! Thank you, Thank you, Thank you!!! I would give them a 10 star if i could!

5 Stars
Self-verified patient of Dr. Tobias Carling - Posted on Sept 30, 2021. Went down to Tampa from New York to have Dr Carling operate on me, I could write a couple of hundred GREAT words about Dr Carling and his office staff. I choose to use one word for my experience with him and his staff SPECTACULAR!!!!!!!!!!

5 Stars
Self-verified patient of Dr. Tobias Carling - Posted on Aug 26, 2021. Dr. Carling removed my right adrenal glad about six months ago when I was 47 years old. In my early thirties, my blood pressure had begun to rise. I was not overweight and I exercised regularly so my doctors always told me to eat less salt. The problem was, I ate very little salt as I stayed away from processed foods and foods with hidden salt such as bread. As I was fairly active, playing sports regularly, I figured the blood pressure rise was due to genetics. Five years ago, when my blood pressure was in the 170s at a doctor visit, the doctor decided to check my potassium levels and noticed it was low, a combination that is a strong indicator of hyperaldosteronism. I should have been screened at that time. However, at the time I didn't know that, and apparently, my PCP didn't know much about it either, as the only action was to prescribe potassium supplements. Last year, my new PCP identified the possible hyper-aldosterone diagnosis and we started down the diagnostic path that verified an aldosterone producing tumor (actually two) on my right adrenal gland. Dr. Carling and his team, in a timely manner, review my material and scheduled me for the mini back scope. I considered other surgeons but I chose Dr. Carling because his surgery takes less time, more directly access the gland, and he performs the surgery himself. Other facilities wanted to go in through the front and shove around a bunch of organs to get to the adrenal gland using inexperience surgeons. Selecting Dr. Carling was an easy decision, especially after interacting with him and getting to experience his compassionate personality. Six months ago, I had surgery mid-day and later that evening I was briskly walking around the hospital floor. I was blessed with a quick recovery which I attribute to the mini-back scope rather than surgery going in from the front. After about a week, I was back to jogging for exercise and the small amount of soreness from surgery was gone. Prior to surgery, I was on three blood pressure medications and a potassium supplement. Just prior to surgery, I went off the potassium. After surgery, over the course of a few months, I weaned off all the blood pressure meds! I am thankful that Dr. Carling put forth such effort studying to become a doctor and then perfect the mini back scope. I and my family have been blessed by his knowledge and experience. Thank you Dr. Carling and team!

5 Stars
Self-verified patient of Dr. Tobias Carling - Posted on Aug 12, 2021. I thank God that Dr. Carling was in Tampa, when I needed him. By the time that my tumor was discovered it was the size of a cantalope! Over the years 7 doctors and two hospitals missed it! Dr. Carling had to take it out through my stomach since it was so big! But he did an excellent job and I had no complications. Thank you, Dr. Carling!

5 Stars
Self-verified patient of Dr. Tobias Carling - Posted on Aug 11, 2021. Dr. Carling saved my life! I had bilateral adrenal tumors causing symptoms for years that most physicians blew off until it was found that the tumor on my right adrenal gland was big and possibly cancerous. A friend of mine gave me the name of Dr. Carling who contacted me himself the same day I uploaded my information, he also worked to collaborate labs with my primary doctor and was able to diagnose my Cushing’s syndrome. We decided to only do a right adrenalectomy at the time to spare me from having to be on steroids for the rest of my life and it was the best decision. My left adrenal tumor is being monitored by an endocrinologist he referred me to in my area and if needed down the road Dr. Carling will definitely be the only surgeon I will go to…best doctors and staff around…thank you for giving me my life back!!

5 Stars
Self-verified patient of Dr. Tobias Carling - Posted on Aug 11, 2021. After being misdiagnosed for years, Dr. Carling was a life saver. Doctors do not know the symptoms of pheochromocytoma. I felt like I was going crazy going from doctor to doctor. The operation was simple and I have recovered 100%. I cannot thank Dr. Carling and Carling Adrenal Center enough.

5 Stars
Self-verified patient of Dr. Tobias Carling - Posted on Aug 1, 2021. Dr Carling deserves a 10 star rating. I give him 5 star only because there's no higher rating. Before my surgery on July 27th, my daughter was doubtful of the uniformly high rating of Dr Carling, no one can be that good, she said. Well, I can tell the reader: He's All That, and more. I'm in awe of this man. Different people have different experiences with any medical procedure, I was up and walking 8 hours after the surgery. Reader, you're in good hands.

5 Stars
Self-verified patient of Dr. Tobias J Carling - Posted on July 9, 2021. This is D.Smith. You did my surgery on February 2nd. I just wanted to take and give you a heartfelt Thank you! for the surgery that you have performed on me in February. It took a little while for my blood pressure to stabilize because I had this Conn's syndrome, but I'm happy to report that my blood pressure is now 106/87. Sometimes it is a lot lower on the diastolic and that's all that's just on 2.5 milligrams of amlodipine a day. I'm very very happy. I basically just wanted to tell you thank you for the surgery. I definitely appreciate it. I do thank you for the surgery that you did for me. All right. Have a great day.

5 Stars
Self-verified patient of Dr. Tobias J Carling - Posted on July 7, 2021. Dr Carling and his entire staff are all wonderful! I had seen numerous Doctors in the past two year regarding my symptoms of anxiety, depression, hyper-tension and high cortisol levels without any diagnosis. I was referred to Dr Tobias Carling at the Carling Adrenal Clinic, Tampa FL. Dr Carling confirmed a Subclinical Cushing (SCS) diagnosis with a 2cm tumor on my left adrenal gland increasing my cortisol levels causing the SCS symptoms I was experiencing. With the diagnosis, I had an adrenalectomy of my left adrenal gland on June 15, 2021 at Tampa Bay Memorial Hospital performed by Dr Carling. Within one week after the operation most all of my symptoms are significantly reduced or eliminated. Dr Carling saved my life!

5 Stars
Self-verified patient of Dr. Tobias J Carling - Posted on May 6, 2021. Thank You! My experience was amazingly wonderful. Everyone was professional, knowledgeable, kind, and compassionate. The facilities were clean and easy to navigate. I had an exceptional experience at Memorial Hospital. I was treated wonderful from everyone from the time I entered until I left. Follow up calls were made as well!

5 Stars
Self-verified patient of Dr. Tobias J Carling - Posted on May 4, 2021. Best Surgeon in the World, Dr. Carling. I am a doctor who came from Connecticut. I was very happy with the entire process and outcome. I was very well-informed every step of the way. Thank you to everyone for being so professional and caring.

5 Stars
Self-verified patient of Dr. Tobias J Carling - Posted on April 22, 2021. Excellence is worth travelling for. Everything was excellent.

5 Stars
Self-verified patient of Dr. Tobias J Carling - Posted on February 12, 2021. I feel I received excellent care from both Dr. Carling and his office staff who collected all my medical records for review by Dr. Carling I felt very reassured by his level of expertise and knowledge. I’m 2 weeks post operative and I feel Great! I already feel better than I have in several years. I am very pleased with all aspects of my care by Dr. Carling his staff and Tampa Memorial Hospital.

5 Stars
Self-verified patient of Dr. Tobias J Carling - Posted on February 11, 2021. Finding the Best Care is Worth the Travel I am 2 weeks post op. I traveled from Virginia to Florida I received excellent care from Dr. Carling. I am feeling the best I have in several years already. Having the best perform my surgery was reassuring and worth traveling for. He has a great bedside manner.

5 Stars
Self-verified patient of Dr. Tobias J Carling - Posted on February 2, 2021. I just wanted to say Thank you to Dr. Carling and everyone involved in my care. Everything went very smooth with the trip and surgery. I came down to the Carling Adrenal Center from Virginia. I am feeling really well. You are a wonderful group of caring people. My operation was on 1/26/2021.

5 Stars
Self-verified patient of Dr. Tobias J Carling - Posted on January 19, 2021. Drs. Carling, Rhodes and Watkins and the staff at Tampa Memorial are awesome. I received excellent care. They discovered an additional issue prior to my scheduled surgery that other doctors had missed and took care of both operations at one time. Relieved and feeling better 30 hours post surgery.

5 Stars
Self-verified patient of Dr. Tobias J Carling - Posted on January 1, 2021. This has been the best medical experience at Memorial for a first time patient. Your app is exceptionally organized of instructions of what to expect. The staff has gone over an above to assist your every need and the time they take to listen to your questions. They Doctors can’t get enough praise from me on their answers to all my questions and their way of making you comfortable and relaxed. The confidence I felt when leaving assured me I was given the best service and care anyone could ask for. Thank you all involved in my case, A+ to everyone . My case 12/4/20 Thank you Diana Dean

5 Stars
Self-verified patient of Dr. Tobias J Carling - Posted on December 22, 2020. I was so blessed to have surgery by two of the world's best surgeons. I received excellent care from Dr. Carling and Dr. Suh! Everyone that I came in contact with was very professional, compassionate and skilled at their calling. From scheduling to discharge, I could not have asked for a better experience. My surgery went perfectly. I am very pleased with the care I received at Memorial Hospital in Tampa.The website and app provided so much information. I was well informed, prepared and received incredible care and support. What a great team of professionals! Thank you to all of you.

5 Stars
Self-verified patient of Dr. Tobias J Carling - Posted on October 19, 2020. Dr. Carling and his staff was very helpful to me. I came from North Carolina to Florida. He has extremely knowledge about removing adrenal glands. A great doctor with very nice bed side manners! Carling Adrenal Center in Florida.

5 Stars
Self-verified patient of Dr. Tobias J Carling - Posted on July 14, 2020. I found Dr Carling after years of searching for a doctor who would help me. My recent surgery by him, was outstanding. He is extremely knowledgeable about his profession. His bedside manner truly unbelievable. To have a doctor as skilled in his work and to have an awesome bedside manner is a rarity. I could go on and on about him, raving about him and his work. I had adrenal surgery performed by him and he was able to spare me having to take lifelong medication. I honestly cannot say enough good things about him. I’m so glad he opened up his Adrenal Center in Florida. Thank you Dr. Carling. Carling Adrenal Center in Florida.

5 Stars
Best Surgeon! Self-verified patient of Dr. Tobias J Carling - Posted on June 26th, 2020. Best Surgeon! Kind, compassionate and extremely experienced. World Class Surgeon.

5 Stars
Self-verified patient of Dr. Tobias J Carling - Posted on June 26th, 2020. *Dr. Carling, calm, kind and explained everything perfectly.

5 Stars
Self-verified patient of Dr. Tobias J Carling - Posted on May 30th, 2020. This was the best hospital I've ever been in. If I ever need surgery I hope I can come to Memorial. It was an absolutely great experience. I do not like hospitals or going to doctors. Dr. Carling is the best. I am so happy I was able to have my care there.

5 Stars
Dr. Carling is the best! Self-verified patient of Dr. Tobias J Carling - Posted on May 30th, 2020. Dr Carling is the best. I couldn't have had a better doctor. The anesthesiologist was awesome too.

5 Stars
Self-verified patient of Dr. Tobias J Carling - Posted on May 11th, 2020. The best (*Dr. Carling)

5 Stars
Phenomenal practice Self-verified patient of Dr. Tobias J Carling - Posted on November 10th, 2019. I was really scared prior to surgery but at my consultations Dr. Tobias Carling and his staff made me feel at ease. They answered all my questions and were extremely patient and knowledgeable. I highly recommend them to anyone.

5 Stars
A Great Surgeon! Self-verified patient of Dr. Tobias J Carling - Posted on November 8th, 2019. Dr. Carling performed surgery on me just over two weeks ago and I feel like myself again! You can tell that he is a very capable and dedicated doctor with a wonderful bedside manner. He explained the entire procedure to me in depth and great detail, making me extremely confident in my choice of a surgeon. My incision area looks fantastic and Dr. Carling gave me a lot of advice about post surgery care. I would definitely recommend this doctor and Yale New Haven Hospital to anyone that needed endocrinology surgery.

5 Stars
Superb and professional service. Self-verified patient of Dr. Tobias J Carling - Posted on October 13th, 2019. Dr. Carling and his team are superb and highly professional healthcare providers. My endocrinologist while referring Dr. Carling indicated he is the best, so not until I met Dr. Carling I understood why he is one of the best in his field, not only that, his staff (fellowships and nurses) are some of the best I have experienced. I appreciate all that Dr. Carling and his team have done for me, and I want to say THANK YOU! Keep up the good work!

5 Stars
Outstanding !!! Self-verified patient of Dr. Tobias J Carling - Posted on October 6th, 2019. Outstanding !!! As a healthcare professional having worked along side physicians specializing in many fields of medical care that require high levels of expertise, I can personally attest that Dr. Carling is clearly one of the finest. Dr. Carling is a compassionate, highly skilled, knowledgeable and expert surgeon who takes the necessary time to care for and about his patient. Dr. Carling's Nursing Coordinator is also exceptional. Her attention to detail, clinical expertise, organization and communication skills are commendable. Colleen assisted with every detail while providing reassurance, guidance and support from our first conversation to set up the appointment to checking on my care, progress and recovery after I returned home. Thank you to all the wonderful leadership, staff and care providers that make up the very exceptional Yale New Haven Health & Hospital.

5 Stars
The Ideal Surgeon and Team. Self-verified patient of Dr. Tobias J Carling - Posted on September 6th, 2019. Dr. Carling and his team were fantastic. Everyone was friendly, informative, highly competent, and went out of their way to make sure I was at ease. The surgery was quick and successful. No one wants to have surgery but, with that in mind, Dr. Carling and his team provided the ideal experience. If I could give more than 5 stars, I would

5 Stars
Couldn't be better! Self-verified patient of Dr. Tobias J Carling - Posted on September 4th, 2019. It is a scary situation to know you need surgery but when I met Dr. Carling and Registered Nurse Colleen, I knew I would receive outstanding care. From the pre op visit, to the actual operation and then the post op visit, I was treated with respect and care. Dr. Carling is an expert in adrenal surgery and it shows. The OR team that cared for me was top notch and once again to feel safe and secure is so important. It was a seamless experience.

5 Stars
Amazing Experience! Self-verified patient of Dr. Tobias J Carling - Posted on July 30th, 2019. Dr. Carling, his nurses, assistants and staff provided the best treatment that anyone could wish for. I have nothing, but the highest praise for their professionalism and compassion.

5 Stars
Excellent Surgical Team! Self-verified patient of Dr. Tobias J Carling - Posted on July 21st, 2019. Dr. Tobias Carling is an excellent surgeon. He takes his time, answers your questions and follows you through the process. His nurse, Colleen Jannitto, is excellent. She answered all of my questions before my appointment, followed up leading up to the surgery with reminders and checked in after. Wonderful care.

5 Stars
Adrenal Tumor Removal. Self-verified patient of Dr. Tobias J Carling - Posted on June 20th, 2019. Dr. Carling is amazing! Wonderful, caring, supportive, and informative Dr. and staff. Surgery went well with no complications. I Highly recommend Dr. Carling!

5 Stars
Partial Adrenalectomy Self-verified patient of Dr. Tobias J Carling - Posted on June 17th, 2019. I had a successful partial adrenalectomy with Dr. Carling at Yale New Haven Medical Center. Dr. Carling is one of the most high volume adrenal surgeons in the country. Research shows that higher volume adrenal surgeons have better success rates. Dr. Carling was a pioneer in doing rear approach laparoscopic adrenal surgery in the US. He trained with Dr. Walz in Germany who developed this specific surgery. This procedure allowed me a faster recovery with fewer risks of complications than other options. I had originally contacted Dr. Carling about finding a referral for another doctor closer to me on the West Coast. The local surgeon I consulted with was not confident about saving part of my adrenal as Dr. Carling was. Dr. Carling then set me up with his fabulous support staff who arranged everything for me to come to New Haven. I couldn't be more pleased with my experience with Dr. Carling and his team. I even went out and shot one of my best rounds of golf just 10 days after my surgery.

5 Stars
Excellent all around Self-verified patient of Dr. Tobias J Carling - Posted on May 19th, 2019. I have no complaints at all

5 Stars
Self-verified patient of Dr. Tobias J Carling - Posted on May 17th, 2019. Thrilled with surgery, surgical results, and Dr. Carling

5 Stars
Excellent attention & care. Self-verified patient of Dr. Tobias J Carling - Posted on May 3rd, 2019. Out-standing!

5 Stars
Self-verified patient of Dr. Tobias J Carling - Posted on April 8th, 2019. Dr. Carling diagnoses my mother with an adrenal tumor. He was extremely professional and educated my mother and myself on the entire procedure. The staff was also so kind and caring. Dr. Carling is an outstanding MD. I am so grateful to him for taking such good care of my mother. I strongly recommend Dr. Carling if you need an amazing endocrinologist. Maria Merithew/Theresa Durant

5 Stars
Amazing Work Self-verified patient of Dr. Tobias J Carling - Posted on April 6th, 2019. Dr Carling your attention to detail, commitment to do your best work, and your confidence in your ability make you the amazing surgeon that you are. Many thanks to you and your staff. My tests given to me to ensure that you had all of the available information, the operation and my recovery are a testament to you and the high standards that you set for yourself to ensure success. Thank you.

5 Stars
Very knowledgeable, friendly and overall great physician. Self-verified patient of Dr. Tobias J Carling - Posted on April 6th, 2019. Dr Carling is very open and friendly. Makes you feel as a patient that he is totally in control and will give you the absolute best treatment. I would fully recommend him and his great team to anyone in need of adrenal surgery. John Klepeis

5 Stars
Best experience Self-verified patient of Dr. Tobias J Carling - Posted on April 6th, 2019. Dr Carling was an informative, caring, skilled surgeon with measurable results. Thank you to you and Colleen for your dedication and results oriented objectives and open communication. My surgery was easy, quick and very little pain and I am enjoying a quick recovery. Thank you hat everything.

5 Stars
Self-verified patient of Dr. Tobias J Carling - Posted on April 4th, 2019. I can not speak my highly enough of Dr. Carling! Excellent experience from consult to actual surgery. The level of professionalism of Dr Carling and his staff is rarely found. A few days after my surgery I feel grateful for having met him. I would highly recommend him to anyone.

5 Stars
The best! Self-verified patient of Dr. Tobias J Carling - Posted on March 28th, 2019. Dr Carling was exceptional in every way. Very likable and obviously a skilled surgeon. His Nurse "Collene" was also exceptional handling all the logistics and providing key information. She really kept on top of things. The Yale staff was professional and competent. If you have to spend a night in a hospital, I can't imagine a better experience.

5 Stars
Best medical care Self-verified patient of Dr. Tobias J Carling - Posted on March 27th, 2019. With highest level skills, compassion, dignity and respect, Dr. Carling saved my life. I am forever grateful that Dr. Carling, his nurse and his surgical team work daily to reverse disease, and preserve life and quality of life, for thousands of patients.

5 Stars
Outstanding surgeon, Dr. Carling Self-verified patient of Dr. Tobias J Carling - Posted on March 27th, 2019. I recently had my tumor removed by Dr. Carling and his team. It was a wonderful experience, from beginning to end. Very easy surgery with no problems or complications. I only took a few Tylenol, almost no pain. One night stay at Yale hospital and felt fine within three to four days. My scar is so small, you can barely see it! I feel great. Thank you, Dr. Carling, for taking me as your patient. Thank you to nurse Colleen who is so attentive and caring. I am so lucky !

5 Stars
Excellent experience Self-verified patient of Dr. Tobias J Carling - Posted on March 26th, 2019. Treatment I expected from Yale. Excellent.

5 Stars
Comforting Experience Self-verified patient of Dr. Tobias J Carling - Posted on March 14th, 2019. Dr. Carling along with his staff gave me the upmost care from beginning to end - very professional, knowledgeable and caring. All my concerns worries and questions were answered promptly!

5 Stars
Excellent Surgeon Self-verified patient of Dr. Tobias J Carling - Posted on August 28th, 2018. Excellent surgeon with a great bedside manner. Very focused on patient satisfaction, never mind the fact that he removed my cancer quickly and with no negative side effects. Great team supporting him as well, especially Colleen! You guys are excellent. THANK YOU.

5 Stars
Adrenal Surgery Self-verified patient of Dr. Tobias J Carling - Posted on July 7th, 2018. I feel very lucky to have been referred to Dr. Carling for my adrenal cancer. He was a great communicator, explaining in detail the process, answering all my questions, giving me a through walk through of the surgery. His entire staff (office, RN, fellows) took their lead from him and were very hands on and supportive. The surgery went very well and the recovery progressed, I feel very confident in the results. After care was consistent, with multiple follow ups from his nursing staff and office visits, responses to my emails. I can highly recommend Dr. Carling to help you deal with any endocrine surgical issues.

5 Stars
Excellence! Self-verified patient of Dr. Tobias J Carling - Posted on April 13th, 2016. Excellent experience pre and operative for adrenal surgery. Can not be more pleased with care, expertise, explanations and recovery.

5 Stars
Self-verified patient of Dr. Tobias J Carling - Posted on September 4th, 2015. He is a top notch surgeon who really cares about the patient. I would recommend him to anyone with adrenal issues.

5 Stars
Self-verified patient of Dr. Tobias J Carling - Posted on September 1st, 2015. Wonderful surgeon and saved my life.

5 Stars
Dr. Carling and his team are a class act. Organized and efficient without loosing the personal touch and compassion of excellent medical providers. CT – Oct 31, 2019

5 Stars
Dr. Carling and his team are superb and highly professional healthcare providers. My endocrinologist while referring Dr. Carling indicated he is the best, so not until I met Dr. Carling I understood why he is one of the best in his field, not only that, his staff (fellowships and nurses) are some of the best I have experienced. I appreciate all that Dr. Carling and his team have done for me, and I want to say THANK YOU! Keep up the good work! Donovan Lawrence – Oct 13, 2019

5 Stars
Dr. Carling, Colleen and his team are a wonderful, supportive group of people who provide excellent support and information concerning my tumor removal. Took time to explain,answer questions and display compassion not shown as often in the health field anymore. I highly recommend this gifted and talented man who truly put his patients first! Thank you! Oct. 10 2019 Maria V. Maria Vece in Branford, CT – Oct 11, 2019

5 Stars
Outstanding!!! As a healthcare professional having worked alongside physicians specializing in many fields of medical care that require high levels of expertise, I can personally attest that Dr. Carling is clearly one of the finest. Dr. Carling is a compassionate, highly skilled, knowledgeable and expert surgeon who takes the necessary time to care for and about his patient. Dr. Carling's Nursing Coordinator, Colleen Jannitto, RN is also exceptional. Her attention to detail, clinical expertise, organization and communication skills are commendable. Colleen assisted with every detail while providing reassurance, guidance and support from our first conversation to set up the appointment to checking on my care, progress and recovery after I returned home. Thank you to all the wonderful leadership, staff and care providers that make up the very exceptional Yale New Haven Health & Hospital. Phyllis A Santilli – Oct 07, 2019

5 Stars
Dr. Carling and his team were fantastic. Everyone was friendly, informative, highly competent, and went out of their way to make sure I was at ease. The surgery was quick and successful. No one wants to have surgery but, with that in mind, Dr. Carling and his team provided the ideal experience. If I could give more than 5 stars, I would Sep 06, 2019

5 Stars
Dr. Tobias Carling and his nurse, Colleen Jannitto are an excellent team. She set up my appointments, made sure I had all the information I needed before my pre-op appt, leading up to the surgery and post op. Dr. Carling was kind, caring and attentive to my questions. The day of surgery, he came to greet me before and then performed a wonderful surgery. You cannot even tell where the scar is. He is very thorough and has a wonderful bedside manner. I would recommend them wholeheartedly. Tina G. – Jul 22, 2019

5 Stars
Dr. Carling, his nurse Colleen, and their entire team are truly outstanding. They are very professional, knowledgeable and friendly. Dr. Carling is a wonderful doctor who is truly gifted and talented. He has extensive expertise, with great patience and kindness. I have recovered very quickly from the surgery. I am so grateful for everything. May 04, 2019

Excellent doctor and staff. Took good care of me in removal of thyroid gland causing goiter. I would fully recommend him and his staff to anyone in need of thyroid or especially adrenal surgery. Apr 06, 2019

5 Stars
I was immediately comfortable with and confident of Dr. Carling. He did not disappoint. My wife received the post surgical report from Dr. Carling and commented about how clearly she understood his explanation of the results. Bottom line... Dr. Carling achieved excellent results. Mar 28, 2019

5 Stars
Dr. Carling recently removed two tumors from my neck. With highest level skills, compassion, dignity and respect, Dr. Carling saved my life, and preserved highest level quality of my life. I am forever grateful for the excellence of care from Dr. Carling and his team. Mar 27, 2019

5 Stars
My experience with Dr Carling was excellent. He is extremely through, professional and completely caring. I had a complete adrenal removal, Dr Carlings and his entire medical staff were completely professional, and competent, I see why he is so highly recommended. I would highly recommend Dr Carlings and his staff. His nurse Colleen is absolutely wonderful as well . Mar 14, 2019

5 Stars
Dr. Carling and his excellent team helped me deal with my diagnosis and surgery. He had the highest recommendations and I can see why. Medically he is beyond reproach and is well known for his excellent results, but he also took time to explain everything, was caring and took time with me, his staff were all there 100% to answer questions during the whole process. I am beyond pleased with how my otherwise traumatic experience (having cancer) went. LB in CT – Jul 07, 2018

5 Stars
Dr. Shalane Lawrence Dr. Carling deserves five stars. His work on me was meticulous and impeccable. He works with skill and precision and I am pleased with the work he did on me. I had the left side adrenal removed. My surgery went well, the hospital stay was hospitable, my recovery was un eventful, his staff was friendly, helpful and professional and last but not least the incision was done with precision. I could tell Dr. Carling was good at his craft. This review was without reservation.

5 Stars
Mary Matsagas Dr Carling is very kind, & caring. He patiently answered all the questions I had, and explained my condition & treatment options thoroughly and clearly. I felt very confident in his care. Colleen Jannitto is absolutely wonderful! She was very helpful, easy to reach, kept in touch, and was very supportive & informative as to the healing process. She is also an FMLA expert. Thank you, Colleen, for everything!

5 Stars
Yvonne Cosacchi Excellent surgeon. Perfect bedside manner. Very thorough and educated.

5 Stars
Betsy OReilly Dr. Carling came highly recommended and upon my initial visit with him I had complete confidence in his skills. He was very thorough in explaining my condition, the treatment, risks, and recovery process and was very receptive to my need to ask questions. His nurse, Colleen, was so incredibly wonderful in calming my fears, reassuring me I was in good hands, answering my questions, and following-up post-op on how I was doing. Excellent team and highly recommend them!

5 Stars
Donovan Lawrence Dr. Carling and his team are superb and highly professional healthcare providers. My endocrinologist while referring Dr. Carling indicated he is the best, so not until I met Dr. Carling I understood why he is one of the best in his field, not only that, his staff (fellowships and nurses) are some of the best I have experienced. I appreciate all that Dr. Carling and his team have done for me, and I want to say THANK YOU! Keep up the good work!

5 Stars
Art S Outstanding !!! As a healthcare professional having worked along side physicians specializing in many fields of medical care that require high levels of expertise, I can personally attest that Dr. Carling is clearly one of the finest. Dr. Carling is a compassionate, highly skilled, knowledgeable and expert surgeon who takes the necessary time to care for and about his patient. Dr. Carling's Nursing Coordinator, Colleen Jannitto, RN is also exceptional. Her attention to detail, clinical expertise, organization and communication skills are commendable. Colleen assisted with every detail while providing reassurance, guidance and support from our first conversation to set up the appointment to checking on my care, progress and recovery after I returned home. Thank you to all the wonderful leadership, staff and care providers that make up the very exceptional Yale New Haven Health & Hospital. Phyllis S.

5 Stars
Shelby McElrath Dr. Carling and his team were fantastic. Everyone was friendly, informative, highly competent, and went out of their way to make sure I was at ease. The surgery was quick and successful. No one wants to have surgery but, with that in mind, Dr. Carling and his team provided the ideal experience. If I could give more than 5 stars, I would.

5 Stars
Ellin VanLeeuwen Dr. Tobias Carling was the most highly recommended surgeon by 2 endocrinologists I had appointments with. For good reason! I could not be happier with the pre-surgery discussion - thorough and answered all my questions. And the surgery was short, successful, and literally no after effects. Excellent physician. Excellent surgeon.

5 Stars
Cardiff Surf Kook I had a successful partial adrenalectomy with Dr. Carling at Yale New Haven Medical Center. Dr. Carling is one of the most high volume adrenal surgeons in the country. Research shows that higher volume adrenal surgeons have better success rates. Dr. Carling was a pioneer in doing rear approach laparoscopic adrenal surgery in the US. He trained with Dr. Walz in Germany who developed this specific surgery. This procedure allowed me a faster recovery with fewer risks of complications than other options. I had originally contacted Dr. Carling about finding a referral for another doctor closer to me on the West Coast. The local surgeon I consulted with was not confident about saving part of my adrenal as Dr. Carling was. Dr. Carling then set me up with his fabulous support staff who arranged everything for me to come to New Haven. I couldn't be more pleased with my experience with Dr. Carling and his team. I even went out and shot one of my best rounds of golf just 10 days after my surgery.


5 Stars brittany jefferson Dr. carling and his staff are amazing! Not one complaint, they’re very friendly, helpful, knowledgeable people. Made me also feel very comfortable.

5 Stars
Luzy Avila Doctor Carling has done 3 of my surgeries. He is an amazing Surgeon. I first like that he is straightforward Doctor with your options and throughly explains those options so you can decide what is best for you. He is pleasant, empathetic and dedicated. His team is 100 percent as dedicated. These Team members make you feel at ease and comfortable. Dr. Carling works well with your other Doctors during the recovery and long term issues.

5 Stars
Lisa Topham Dr.Carling is absolutely fantastic. He is impeccablely trained, extremely thorough, and extremely personable. His nurse Colleen is phenomenal as well, super team. And my adrenal surgery with him was almost a piece of cake. I would highly recommend him.

5 Stars
joe mack Adrenal surgery perfectly done. The diagnosis and surgery saved my life. There is no other way to put it. I thought my life was over! I could not understand why 6 doctors in Fairfield Co CT (ONE OF WEALTHIEST CO IN USA) couldn't figure out what was wrong with me, Honorable mention to Dr Duben (endo) for sending me to Carling. It was a process for sure and Yale was great. Apparently paying $12,000.00 per yr for health insurance(1 person me), covers nothing unless you spend days and weeks fighting for every penny. Its absurd. But in the face of a total breakdown in the entire healthcare system Carling, Yale and Duben literally were the most professional Dr's and staff I have met on this journey towards wellness. Great Job!

5 Stars
Kim Griswold I had an excellent outcome with Dr Carling. The surgery went well and my only concerns were with the findings which in my case were good.

5 Stars
Lori Dr Carling and his staff are absolutely amazing. I had two surgeries, and both were done to perfection with minimal recovery time and an incision you hardly can see.

5 Stars
Ellen Woodward Absolutely the best!  Thyroid and Adrenal Surgery 05/15/2019 & 06/05/19 Just a quick email to say thank you for everything regarding my two recent surgeries (thyroidectomy in May and left adrenalectomy in June). You are a gifted and skilled surgeon. My husband and I were very impressed with your expertise and confidence. We appreciated you taking the time to explain everything to us during the preops, after each surgery and at the post op appointments. I am so pleased with the outcome of both surgeries. My thyroid was extremely enlarged and I was having difficulty breathing, you did an amazing job removing it with minimal scarring and discomfort. It is wonderful to no longer deal with labored breathing or waking up at night gasping for air. Walking up one flight of stairs was a challenge for me. Three days after the surgery I did a six mile walk with my family on the rail trail by my house, it was such an achievement for me. Now I am active once again - walking, biking, swimming and enjoying it! The left adrenalectomy was a positive experience also and I healed quickly. I had some residual nerve pain but that went away just as you advised me it would. You and Dr. Brown and Colleen are an amazing team! (Yale Hospital is lucky to have each one of you as part of their team). Thanks again, Mary Clinton

5 Stars
“Dr. Carling, his assistant a very well informed (a courteous young lady), and his scheduling coordinator, all great people.... I was able to go to pre-registration same day due to the coordinators efforts to get me in.... I live more than one hour away and would have had to make another trip.... Great service” “Dr. Carling was very professional and knowledgeable.”

5 Stars
Aug 15th , 2019 “Dr. Carling was very kind and informative.” “Dr Carling and his team were so professional and so caring - I would 100 percent recommend him again for surgery.” “Dr Carling and his staff are amazing. He makes you feel comfortable and is very personable. I don't usually post reviews online but I did on Google for him!” “Tobias Carling MD is highly skilled, kind, compassionate and I would highly recommend him as the expert to see concerning your adrenal surgery.” “I feel very confident in Dr Carling. He seems to be a caring, professional physician. I know I'm in good hands.” “Dr Tobias Carling is informed and personable.” “My doctor, Dr. Carling, was excellent in every way. He spoke on a level that the lay person would understand. He was a great teacher and I can't say enough good things about him, he made such a good impression and I have to tell you I am singing his praises no matter who I talk with I tell them about that young man. He did an outstanding job, his whole staff par excellent.” “Amazing!!”

5 Stars
“Dr. Carling. Caring surgeon.” “From my surgeon to the resident and fellow with team members I received the best care possible.” “Physicians came in a few times and explained everything. They took the time to answer my questions.” “Dr. Carling and his fellow were readily available to answer questions. I felt I was in excellent care during surgery and after.” “I had the best experience with my doctor. Very good doctor. (*Dr. Carling)” “Felt my doctors had exceptional skills and excellent bedside manner.” “Dr. Tobias Carling sent me very much at ease and made me feel less anxious and more informed about my upcoming surgery.” “Dr. Carling was very good about his explanation of my future Operation. He detailed exactly what was needed and reassured me everything would be fine.” “Dr. Carling is amazing, didn't have any questions that's how great he was.”

5 Stars
January 3rd, 2019 Press Gainey “My friend and I were both impressed with Dr. Carling and his staff.” “I wanted the best and believe that Dr. Carling is the best.” “Dr. Carling and Dr. Brown and were excellent!!!!!” “Very comfortable with Dr. Carling---he was reassuring and informative” “Dr. T. Carling is wonderful as is his fellow Neeta. Both explained the procedure beforehand & addressed my concerns & questions. I can't say enough about them & the other staff.” “I just can't say enough good about Dr. Carling! Excellent surgeon with an excellent bedside manner. Excellent experience.” “Dr. Carling helped to alleviate our fears prior to surgery” “Dr. Carling was professional and caring. I await results of tests he ordered and his recommendations for treatment.” “Excellent. Took time to answer questions.” “Dr. Carling and their team are very good. Excellent team. They took very good care of me.” “First time seeing Dr. Carling he explained what my condition is and the surgery that will be performed” “Very informative” “Dr. Carling and his staff were very friendly and reassuring. Dr. Carling made me feel very at ease with my surgery.” “Answered all questions put me at ease.”

Become Our Patient

Patients needing adrenal surgery travel from all over the world to have adrenal surgery with Dr. Carling, the most experienced adrenal surgeon. This page discusses how you can have your adrenal operation at the Carling Adrenal Center with Dr. Carling himself.

Become Our Patient Here